Graces in Greene

 

snowy-full-view-jan-2017

My cocoon in the woods

No, I’ve not disappeared. I have a good reason for taking a month off from my blog — the sale and closing on my beautiful log cabin in Greene County, Virginia.

With all the details to handle for this long-distance move, my 12 days of Christmas went something like this:

12 hours on the phone working out the details of this major move (most of them spent on  hold with Direct TV). Eight friends helping me pack, bringing me food, transporting stuff to storage and Goodwill. Six days driving 9+ hours a day (from El Paso to Virginia and back again). Four trips to a storage unit with some items Davis will surely not know what the heck to do with. Two weeks packing, sorting, and discarding. One light snowfall blanketing the woods and mountains. And a cardinal in an oak tree.

It’s been bittersweet, to be sure.

Finding  myself back in that special place brought up a lot of memories. It gave me a new appreciation of my friends, of my Greene County community, of the privilege of living in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, and, most especially, of the spiritual significance of living in the silence and solitude of this log home that I envisioned and manifested.

Although two weeks was barely enough time to get everything done and moved out, I managed to pause each day. Take time for contemplative silence. Note the blessings. And be grateful.

That practice helped me remain focused. It calmed me, gave me clarity, and assisted me in letting go of my last tether to Virginia. Not an easy thing to do. Because I love that home. I love my friends. I love Greene County.

snowy-goodbye-jan-2017

I experienced one last snowstorm in this magical place.

Still, I knew it was the right decision.

And I experienced, much more clearly than I had before, just how much Spirit had upheld me, kept me safe, supported and loved me in this space. Through the questions and doubts, the loneliness, the seeking, as I attempted to listen more and more deeply to where my heart was calling me.

I felt such profound gratitude.

Gratitude for the graces of both the peaceful and tumultuous emotions that surfaced here. For the healing that took place as well. For the Love that never left me.

Gratitude for the community of friends who have showed up whenever I needed them. For those of you who are reading this, I can’t even find sufficient words to thank you.

Greene County is an amazing place. I think of the friends who appeared at my door within minutes after David died. Your countless meals, offers of physical and emotional support, and prayers carried me through that stage and beyond.

Three years later friends again appeared to help me move from our family home to this dream home in the woods. And now, again, you have come to support me.

I know I could not have made this transformational move without you.

Now I’m back in El Paso, settling into an apartment. I haven’t lived in apartment since before I got married at 24 — a very long time ago!

Yes, it’s an adjustment. Another practice in letting go. Daily I am learning to say “yes” to life as it shows up. To accept a life that’s rarely on my terms. And, I hope, paying attention to the graces.

Graces abound.

When I’m in the flow of life, I recognize them. Just as I did these past two weeks in Virginia. They show up in various forms, in unexpected places. They come in different shapes and even in colors. My favorite happens to be Greene.

 

snowy-road-jan-2017

Mountains flank my snowy, winding driveway as I prepare to leave Virginia.

About Pauline

I've been a freelance writer and editor for many years and I'm seeking to follow my heart in this stage of my journey, as the major roles in my life as wife and mother have changed. Not sure where this will lead, but I'm taking one step at a time as I listen within.

Posted on January 20, 2017, in letting go, transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Well, I was wondering when we might receive a little play-on-words using “Greene” – and you finally delivered in the last sentence – ha! And, of course, I hope you made a pile of green on the sale of your beautiful log cabin home!

    And so, on to the next chapter you go, guided by Spirit and comforted by knowledge and experience that all shall be well, mi amiga…

    Love,
    Rob

    Like

  2. Thanks, Rob. As always, I appreciate your supportive friendship.

    Like

  3. Oh, Pauline, I’m so sad to think that you will not be here again!!I didn’t spend much time with you, but I have been so inspired by your example o
    stepping out in faith and following your call! The work you are doing is truly Gospel work, and I wish you every blessing as you move forward into the future God has prepared.
    I don’t know if our paths will cross again; I hope they will. But if not, know that I am grateful that they crossed for a time. I look forward to reading your blog, and I will continue to hold you in prayer.
    Shalom,
    Grace

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pauline, it’s moving to hear your account and your cabin does seem exquisite. I hope u will b back to visit. I miss you! Love, Claire

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jennifer Murphy

    We will miss having you a part of our every day lives Pauline. But please know we love you and know that you are doing great work in El Paso. God be with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

