Images from Juarez

These are some of the photos I took over the 2 1/2 days I visited Juarez. I witnessed and learned so much in that brief visit. This is the first time I’ve experienced extreme poverty up close and personal. Yet the people I met were kind, faithfilled, warm, and lived with the kind of peace and trust that comes with acceptance of life as it is and in a power beyond themselves. It will take a long time for me to process all I experienced. And it will stay with me forever.

view atop parish center

view atop parish center

Out on the street after a light rain

Out on the street after a light rain

Cross contains the names of those who have been killed in the violence - more than 200 in this parish alone.

Cross contains the names of those who have been killed in the violence – more than 200 in this parish alone.

Each popsicle stick on the cross contains the name of loved one killed

Each popsicle stick on the cross contains the name of loved one killed

the sisters' sunny living area

the sisters’ sunny living area

Me playing with Sr. Carol's dog Princessa

Me playing with Sr. Carol’s dog Princessa

Sr. Carol bringing communion to homebound Pablo in his one-room shack

Sr. Carol bringing communion to homebound Pablo in his one-room shack

typical neighborhood home

typical neighborhood home

Sr. Josefina tending to her parakeets and garden

Sr. Josefina tending to her parakeets and garden

Sr. Carol (center) posing with one of the religious ed teachers and her young daughter at their home.

Sr. Carol (center) posing with one of the religious ed teachers and her young daughter at their home.

About Pauline

I've been a freelance writer and editor for many years and I'm seeking to follow my heart in this stage of my journey, as the major roles in my life as wife and mother have changed. Not sure where this will lead, but I'm taking one step at a time as I listen within.

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Interesting that you noticed the acceptance and peace in the midst of living in such poverty. Richard Rohr speaks about his experience of people in third world countries and how they just “get it” in terms of surrendering their egos and trusting God and moving into the second half of life spirituality because they live with what they cannot control every day of their lives in poverty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

